The balsamic reduction in this recipe is a great one to add to your arsenal because it is a secret weapon for wickedly delicious super fast meals (GREAT with chicken!). Use as a drizzle to fancy things up – just like restaurants do!

Balsamic Pork Chops

This might be a flavour pairing you haven’t tried before, but if you like juicy seared pork chops and sweet tangy balsamic reduction, I think you’ll be surprised how well they go together! It is perhaps an unexpected flavour combination, but it works exceptionally well – and it’s something a little different to the usual pork chops. Balsamic Reduction is one of those secret weapons that restaurants use to fancy things up. A little drizzle here and there makes the ordinary extra special, whether it’s a simple bruschetta or salad, or on a dinner plate.

Balsamic Reduction is EASY to make!

Also known as Balsamic Glaze, Balsamic Syrup – and probably a handful of other names that I don’t know about! It’s made with just balsamic vinegar and brown sugar that is reduced until syrupy. The flavour is quite intense – tangy and sweet – so you don’t need very much of it when used as a sauce like in this recipe. While some recipes will tell you to use the best quality balsamic vinegar you can afford, I say to use a good value balsamic. I find the flavour so intense, I can’t tell whether it’s made with a good value balsamic or a posh one. So I reserve my posh stuff for using uncooked. 🙂

What to use Balsamic Reduction for

Basically, anything you put Balsamic Reduction on tastes better. Use it for salads, drizzle over crostini and pizza. As a dipping sauce for bread. It is best mates with mushrooms, it makes beetroot fancy, and it’s fantastic to use warm as a sauce for meat and grilled vegetables. Like PORK CHOPS! Ordinarily, Balsamic Reduction is made with just balsamic vinegar and sugar. For this recipe, I’ve added onion which not only adds more flavour into the sauce, it also creates volume so you can piled the sauce over the pork chops. Plus I love how jammy the onion gets.

What to serve with these pork chops

I served the Balsamic Pork Chops with Crispy Smashed Potatoes. Here are some more suggestions for this to serve on the side:

Mashed Potato or Cauliflower Mash (for a low carb alternative) Quick Cheesy Garlic Bread Crispy Smashed Potatoes or this Easy Cheesy Potato Bake Garden salad or any leafy greens with French Dressing or Italian Dressing Fresh, crunchy Corn, Tomato and Avocado Salad

Though I’m sharing Balsamic Pork Chops today, the sauce for this recipe is fantastically versatile and can be used for any meat or even grilled vegetables. I think it’s a bit strong for seafood though, unless used sparingly. So whatever meat you have in your fridge, as long as you have balsamic vinegar and sugar, you can make this tonight!!!! I’d love to know what you think if you do try it. 🙂 – Nagi x PS I tend more towards a savoury rather than sweet tooth so the sauce is less sweet than some recipes that are floating round on the internet. Some call for as much as equal amounts of sugar and balsamic which is far too sweet for me.

More pork chops recipes

Another great pork chop marinade – my go to for all occasions! Sticky Baked Pork Chops – you probably already have everything required for the sauce! French Onion Smothered Pork Chops Lemon Marinated Pork Chops

Life of Dozer

When I took the overhead shot of the pork, I just shifted my camera slightly and snapped him in usual position…. 🙂

SaveSave SaveSave

Balsamic Pork Chops - 46Balsamic Pork Chops - 46Balsamic Pork Chops - 98Balsamic Pork Chops - 40Balsamic Pork Chops - 36Balsamic Pork Chops - 25Balsamic Pork Chops - 2Balsamic Pork Chops - 31