This recipe is part of a Chili Con Carne Series where I use leftover chili and transform it into other dishes.  Earlier this week I shared my Shredded Beef Chili Con Carne recipe. It makes ALOT! About 12 to 15 cups! Which is just perfect because Chili Con Carne freezes so well and is incredibly versatile. Potato skins, as a pasta sauce, in lasagna bakes, wrapped in pastry, as a soup base, on fries and chili dogs and of course Mexican favourites like tacos, burritos, enchiladas, nachos. The list of things you can make with Chili Con Carne is so extensive that I decided to do a separate post post on it. I’ll update this post with a link to it once I share it! One of the sides I love to make for Chili Con Carne are Corn Bread Muffins. Every time I make Corn Bread Muffins, it amazes me how incredibly delicious they are and yet the batter takes mere minutes to make. No creaming, no mixer. Just place a handful of ingredients in a bowl, mix, and you’re done. So it was my fondness for having Corn Bread Muffins to slop up Chili Con Carne that was the catalyst for this pie. First bite and I was in heaven. Just looking at this photo makes me want to do a face plant in this pie (except that I know how steaming hot the pie is in this photo!) “The corn bread topping for this pie only takes a few minutes to make. Just combine a handful of ingredients in a bowl, mix, then pour into the pie dish.” I kept this very simple and just used leftover Shredded Beef Chili Con Carne as the filling and topped it with a corn bread mixture. However, you can certainly fill it out by adding vegetables. Corn in particular would go very well (frozen or fresh) for a double corn hit, as would peas. If you wanted to add some more nutrition into it, you could even stir through shredded spinach. I made my pies in little individual serving size pie dishes. But you can definitely make this in a larger dish, you just need to adjust the baking time to make sure the corn bread cooks through. Hope you give this a try! Love to hear what you think. 🙂

 

Chili Con Carne Corn Bread Pie - 92Chili Con Carne Corn Bread Pie - 6Chili Con Carne Corn Bread Pie - 94Chili Con Carne Corn Bread Pie - 33