Today is the day after Thanksgiving and America is in a food coma. Can you imagine how many millions of pounds of turkey was consumed yesterday? A number I can’t comprehend! Though many Americans may be considering a) how to burn off Thanksgiving excess calories b) what to do with Thanksgiving Leftovers, those of us in the rest of the world are already focussed on another important matter: How to be the most popular person at any gathering for the upcoming holiday seasons. Easy answer: take food. Good food. Crowd pleasing food. Like- Chorizo Bites in a Sweet & Spicy Sauce. 😉

I really feel like Chorizo is one of the most underused secret ingredients around. Sausage – been there, done that. Chorizo has more flavour and better colour. Throw it on a baking tray with some veggies and bake it – bang, instant dinner that’s practically self saucing. Throw it into frittatas, salads, soups. Chorizo is like the Other Bacon – it just makes everything better. Chorizo is probably not the first ingredient you think of when you’re planning party food, but I’d urge you to keep it front of mind. A little goes a long way, and it requires little prep. Even if you just sliced it up and cooked it, like I do when I make my Easy Spanish Tapas spread, it is still a total and utter crowd pleaser. For this version, I decided to up the ante a bit. Just to make extra sure that you’ll be the biggest food-hit at the party you take this to. So I created a sauce to go with the chorizo. It’s sweet and spicy and it’s SO GOOD your guests will be mopping up the sauce with bread long after the chorizo is gone.

This recipe is a recent creation. I’m increasing my arsenal of make ahead party food. Dips are tried and tested favorites, but sometimes I want to do something different. For me, a key factor in choosing party food – whether I’m hosting at my place or going somewhere – is whether it can be made ahead, how well it reheats and how well it transports. This ticks all those boxes. Although best served warm, it is still really tasty at room temperature. It just takes a minute or two for reheating in the microwave, then doesn’t required any assembly, just pour it in a dish. It can be made a couple of days ahead, it’s fast to make and transports easily in a plastic container. If you’ve invited me to a party this upcoming holiday season, I’ll probably be bringing these Chorizo Bites! 😉 – Nagi x

More cocktail food for parties

Cheeseburger Party Meatballs Cocktail Meatballs Smoked Salmon Stacks Spinach Ricotta Rolls or Puffs Ham and Cheese Puffs Sausage Rolls Coconut Shrimp / Prawns with Thai Mango Dipping Sauce Truly Crispy Baked Wings – or Buffalo Wings See all Dip Recipes, all Party Food and the Top 25 Party Foods!

WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

It’s a fairly straight forward recipe but I thought it might be useful to see the thickness of the sauce. Plus, it looks so irresistible. Added bonus: very little sightings of my Baby Hands. I like. 😇

LIFE OF DOZER

This is what I saw when a 40kg / 80 lb dog launched himself at me. A split second after this, my butt was on the sand. He got impatient with me taking photos instead of playing with him. How dare I! How dare HE!

  SaveSave SaveSave

Chorizo Bites in Sweet   Spicy Sauce - 34Chorizo Bites in Sweet   Spicy Sauce - 61Chorizo Bites in Sweet   Spicy Sauce - 21Chorizo Bites in Sweet   Spicy Sauce - 28Chorizo Bites in Sweet   Spicy Sauce - 88Chorizo Bites in Sweet   Spicy Sauce - 23Chorizo Bites in Sweet   Spicy Sauce - 40Chorizo Bites in Sweet   Spicy Sauce - 59