SAUTEED SPINACH – A QUICK HEALTHY SIDE

This is a quick vegetable side that I make ALOT so it’s high time I shared. It’s been pictured on the side of many main dishes that I’ve shared over the years – usually because I’m scrambling for something quick to put on the side to complete a photo! And beyond using this Sautéed Spinach as a prop for photos, this is something that frequently appears in my real life day-to-day cooking for the very reason that it’s so quick with the added bonus that it’s an easy way to eat a huge mound of greens with just a few bites because spinach wilts to much when it’s cooked!

SPINACH NUTRITION – it’s GOOD for you!

Spinach is low in calories but rich in iron and vitamins C and A, plus it’s a really good source of dietary fibre. It also contains protein (hello Popeye!), iron, vitamins and minerals. It’s good for your skin, hair and bone health, and studies have shown that it can lower the risk of cancer. So don’t we love how easy it is to eat LOADS without even realising it! This recipe calls for two bunches of spinach and initially, it fills the entire skillet. But in just a couple of minutes to wilts down by almost 80%. This photo only shows one of the bunches (don’t ask me why I didn’t snap a photo of both!)

Because I like my spinach just wilted, rather than cooked so it’s very limp, I prefer to cut the leafy part from the stems because the stems take longer to cook. But if you don’t mind cooking your spinach longer, feel free to keep some of the stems. This Garlic Sautéed Spinach was pictured on the side of the Prime Rib recipe I shared a few weeks ago (pictured below) and a few readers have requested I share it – so here it is! It’s the sort of side that’s ideal for any meaty mains because it’s quite light and fresh, and a good way to pack in a solid hit of greens in just a few bites! – Nagi x  

Standing Rib Roast (Prime Rib) (pictured below) Slow Roasted Pork with perfect crackling – or any other roast A juicy steak with Creamy Peppercorn Sauce or Mushroom Sauce A juicy whole Roast Turkey – or any of these turkey recipes! Garlic Herb Butter Roast Chicken Fall-apart Lamb Shanks in Red Wine Sauce or Port Braised Lamb Shanks Slow Cooked Beef Cheeks in Red Wine Sauce

LIFE OF DOZER

Patiently waiting for me to finish snapping pics and get on with playing!

Garlic Saut ed Spinach - 26Garlic Saut ed Spinach - 27Garlic Saut ed Spinach - 43Garlic Saut ed Spinach - 62Garlic Saut ed Spinach - 8Garlic Saut ed Spinach - 88