This is a reader-favourite recipe included by popular demand in my debut cookbook “Dinner”!

Chicken and rice – elevated!

What makes this lemon rice so special, you might ask? Well, it’s like cooking the rice in triple strength chicken stock because the chicken is cooked ON TOP of the rice. So it gets the full benefit of all the juices from the chicken seeping into it while it cooks. Add the fresh flavours of lemon and boom! You will knock the socks off anyone you serve this too! Big promises I know….but I have third party validation of this. Someone who always tells me the truth about my dishes. Especially “inventions” which I often pass on because I know I’ll get truthful feedback. I do love my friends dearly, but honestly, not everything I make them can be “OMG, this is so delicious!!” (Seriously, I love my friends, love them to bits!) So in this particular case, her family raved about the rice so I’m just passing on that message. 🙂 (PS She was quick to point out that the chicken was lovely too, she just said that the STAR of the dish was the rice! I’m totally cool with that! 🙂 ) This is not an authentic Greek Chicken recipe (as far as I know!) but it is made using classic Greek ingredients. It uses the same technique I use for my One Pot Mexican Chicken and Rice. There’s nothing tricky or ground breaking, it’s just about getting the liquid to rice ratio right. Rice baked in the oven requires a lot more water than when it’s cooked on the stove. And when you plop chicken on top of the rice, it drops liquid so you need to take that into account. To make this Greek Chicken recipe in one pot (well, pan – why do I keep writing “pot”??!), the chicken is seared in the pan first, then the rice is added, the chicken placed back on top then it’s popped in the oven. The magic happens while it’s baking. As the chicken cooks, all the juices seep into the rice which are soaked up by the rice and add incredible flavour. INCREDIBLE flavour. It honestly is like triple strength chicken stock. And now, if you’ll excuse me, I can’t hold back any longer. I need some lunch! – Nagi

WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

This recipe features in my debut cookbook Dinner. The book is mostly new recipes, but this is a reader favourite included by popular demand!

Cheeseburger Casserole (Homemade Hamburger Helper)Asian Beef and Ramen Noodles – made in one skillet in 15 minutes!One Pot Chinese Chicken and RiceOne Pan Baked Sausages and Veggies with GRAVY!One Pan Lemon Garlic Chicken and PotatoesOne Pot Vegetable PastaBrowse all One Pot recipes

If you like this one pot Greek Chicken recipe, you may also enjoy my ONE POT BAKED GREEK CHICKEN ORZO (RISONI)! And if you’re after another Greek Chicken recipe (because let’s face it, the Greeks know how to make GOOD CHICKEN!), I think you’ll enjoy my GREEK CHICKEN GYROS.The yoghurt lemon marinade for this chicken is incredible!

LIFE OF DOZER

His chest hair bursting out of his sweater…. SO CUTE!!! SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave

One Pot Greek Chicken and Lemon Rice   best chicken and rice ever  - 91One Pot Greek Chicken and Lemon Rice   best chicken and rice ever  - 41One Pot Greek Chicken and Lemon Rice   best chicken and rice ever  - 9One Pot Greek Chicken and Lemon Rice   best chicken and rice ever  - 10One Pot Greek Chicken and Lemon Rice   best chicken and rice ever  - 37One Pot Greek Chicken and Lemon Rice   best chicken and rice ever  - 13One Pot Greek Chicken and Lemon Rice   best chicken and rice ever  - 41One Pot Greek Chicken and Lemon Rice   best chicken and rice ever  - 98