This Celery and Lime Bruschetta topping remains “undiscovered” but once you try it, you’ll definitely add it into your summer rotation. It’s a fantastic way to get a lot of healthy nutrition into you without even thinking twice about it, each slice has about 1 1/2 sticks of celery in it, but you would never guess. While I do like celery, and I often serve it cut up into sticks alongside dip as a “healthy” snack, I get sick of it easily. It has a very distinct flavour, one that I describe as “grassy”. Pureeing it with lime and olive oil transforms it completely, and becomes a softer flavour that is just pure freshness. I was really surprised how good it was, I have to admit I was a bit dubious! This is a recipe from Michela Chiappa’s Simply Italian, though I have amended it because I found that the original recipe which calls for 4 sticks of celery only makes enough for just over 2 pieces of bread and it is really oily, using 6 tablespoons of olive oil for 4 sticks of celery – that worked out to be 3 tbsp per piece of bread! This is one of 3 bruschetta recipes in my Trio of Bruschetta Spread:

Tomato and Basil Bruschetta Lemon Cannellini Bean Bruschetta Celery and Lime Bruschetta

A Bruschetta Spread is a great starter or light meal for guests because you fill bowls with Bruschetta toppings alongside a pile of grilled bread and let your guests serve themselves. This is a great summer recipe that’s super fast to make!!

 

Trio of Bruschetta  Celery and Lime Bruschetta - 94Trio of Bruschetta  Celery and Lime Bruschetta - 50Trio of Bruschetta  Celery and Lime Bruschetta - 61