Mushrooms were made for stuffing for all sorts of purposes – bite size to pass around at gatherings like this recipe, and large ones are ideal for using to bake eggs!

“These little babies look fiddly, but they aren’t at all. They take just 10 minutes to pop a whole tray of them into the oven.” It dawned on me recently that the homepage of my blog was very “yellow” and “red”. I mentioned this to my mother and she instantly said, “Yes, it is. Because most of your recipes have cheese, carbs and meat in them. That’s so typical of you.” The way she said it was that tone of voice that implied “DUH. Didn’t you know?” I scrolled back over the last couple of months and was pretty shocked to realise how much of my recipes are dominated by cheese, bread/noodles/rice/potatoes, chicken and bacon. Even the (few) salads I posted had cheese or carbs of some form in them! You must think that this is how I live. On cheese, meat and carbs. So I thought I had better post a vegetarian cheese free dish. I really did aim to get inspired to make something that was also carb free, but I just resist sharing these cute little Panko and Herb Stuffed Mushrooms. Aren’t they adorable? I know they look fiddly, but I promise they aren’t at all. I don’t do fiddly, remember? “These are a great light lunch or side. But they’re also great as an appetiser you can pass around at a party because you can pop the whole mushroom in your mouth.” These babies are the perfect size for popping straight into your mouth so they would even make a great appetiser you can pass around at a party. When you bite into them, the warm juicy mushroom bursts and mixes in with the golden crunchy, salty panko. They are just divine. These are the kind of bites that could turn a carnivore into a vegetarian. Now if you’ll excuse me, I need to continue demolishing this entire plate. This is my lunch. Oomph, I am going to be so full.

Mushrooms, mushrooms, mushrooms…

Mushroom Rice A Creamy Mushroom Sauce you’ll want to put on everything! Mushroom Pasta Beef and Mushroom Pie Salisbury Steak or Chicken with Mushroom Gravy Asian Mushroom Ramen Noodles Browse all Mushroom Recipes

And specifically, some great recipes for BIG mushrooms!

Pizza Stuffed Mushrooms Baked Vegetable Frittata Baked Eggs in Mushrooms Garlic Butter Roasted Mushrooms

 

Vegetarian Garlic Stuffed Mushrooms - 69Vegetarian Garlic Stuffed Mushrooms - 55Vegetarian Garlic Stuffed Mushrooms - 49